SHEEP

My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me.    John 10:27

He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out.    John 10:3

I am the good shepherd; and I know My sheep, and am known by My own.  John 10:14

One of the most graphic images in Bible of our relationship with the Lord is that of the Shepherd and His Sheep. Please consider the following:

1.In the Shepherd/Sheep relationship there is a POSSESSION FACTOR   He calls his own sheep by name….The Good Shepherd owns His sheep. We who believe in Him belong to Him.  This sets us apart from the world and gives us a unique place in society. We are not known by a religion but rather by a relationship!

2.In the Shepherd/Sheep relationship there is a PERCEPTION FACTOR   My sheep hear my voice…..With all of the voices calling to us in this world, we sheep have an ear to hear what our Good Shepherd is saying.    John on Patmos said, He who has an ear, let him hear…Revelation 2:7   I recall as a new believer what a thrill it was for me to be able to hear the voice of the Good Shepherd. He was no longer a stranger and I now could hear Him speak.

3. In the Shepherd/Sheep relationship there is a PERSONAL FACTOR  He calls His own sheep by name…. With the multiplied millions of sheep that our Good Shepherd owns, He knows my name! I am not just lost in the flock, I have personal identity and value.

4.In the Shepherd/Sheep relationship there is a PROVISION FACTOR  He leads them out..From the great 23rd Psalm we read,   He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters…The Good Shepherd looks after His sheep. When we follow Him, we will always enjoy green pastures and refreshing water.    Amen.

 

 

Leave a comment