STAND

A dictionary definition of the word stand is: to support oneself on the feet in an erect position. The Bible gives a variety of uses of the word with many helpful applications.

For I know that my Redeemer lives, And that He shall stand at last on the earth..Job 19:25

Therefore the ungodly shall not stand in the judgment, Nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous…Psalm 1:5

Who may ascend into the hill of the Lord? Or who may stand in His holy place? He who has clean hands and a pure heart, Who has not lifted up his soul to an idol, nor sworn deceitfully.  Psalm 24:3-4

Watch, stand fast in the faith, be brave, be strong.  I Corinthians 16:13

Not that we have dominion over your faith, but are fellow workers for your joy, for by faith you stand.  II Corinthians 1:24

Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all to stand. Stand therefore, having girded your waist with truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness…Ephesians 6:13-14

Therefore, my beloved and longed-for brethren, my joy and crown, so stand fast in the Lord, beloved.   Philippians 4:1

And finally, the greatest stand of all:

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come into him and dine with him and he with Me.  Revelation 3:20

 Jesus does not remain standing but moves into our hearts to dine with us in a never ending feast.       Amen!

Leave a comment